9 Gluten-Free Chocolate Ranges That You Might be Depriving Yourself of

9 Gluten-Free Chocolate Ranges That You Might be Depriving Yourself of

Click here to get this post in PDF

Gluten-Free Chocolate

If you are confused about which chocolate suits your dietary requirements in the supermarket, here is a guide. Please note that you will not find these in the ‘free from’ aisle, as they are not specifically gluten-free. They just happen to be. (As always, check the packaging for the ingredients. The following is a guide only).

Gluten-Free Chocolate – Galaxy Range

The following Galaxy products are gluten-free:

Ripple, Minstrels, Galaxy Smooth Milk bars

Gluten-Free Chocolate – Cadbury Chocolate Range

The following products in the Cadbury range are gluten-free:

White Buttons, Milk Tray, Mini Eggs, Mixed Buttons, Roses, Eclairs (inc. Eclairs Velvets), Twirl Bites, Flake, Wispa, Wispa Gold, Giant Buttons, Brown Buttons. Caramel Nibbles, Chomps, Caramel Egg, Crunchies, Curly Squirlies, Curly Wurlys, Darkmilk, Freddo Faces, Fudge and Fudge Minis, Heroes (not including their Dinky Decker).

Gluten-Free Chocolate – Kinder Chocolate Range

Many of the products in the Kinder range are gluten-free. These include:
Kinder Chocolate Bars, Kinder Surprise Eggs, Schoko-Bonss, Mini Eggs.
NOTE: Happy Hippos and Bueno Bars contain wafers, and as such, are not gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Chocolate – Lindt Chocolates

Several products in the Lindt range are free from gluten. (As always, check the ingredients). These are:

Excellence 70% Dark Chocolate, Excellence 85% Dark Chocolate Excellence 90%, Dark Chocolate, Excellence 95%, Dark Chocolate, Excellence Touch of Vanilla, Lindor White Chocolate, Lindor Strawberries and Cream.

Gluten-Free Chocolate – Mars Chocolate Range

Mars bars and Maltesers are NOT gluten-free.
Bounty, Snickers and Magic Stars are gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Chocolate – Nestle Chocolate Range

The following products in the Nestle range are gluten-free: Aero, Aero Mint, Aero Milk, Aero Mint Bubbles, Aero White and Aero Minis, Quality Street, Quality Street Matchmakers.
Milkybar Buttons, Milkybar Giant White Buttons (share bag), Milkybar Giant Buttons, Milkybar Milk and Crunchy, (Orange/Mint/Honeycomb/Salted Caramel), Milkshake, Sharing Block and Walnut Whip.

Gluten-Free Chocolate – Toblerone

Toblerone, quite simply put, is gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Chocolate – M&M’S

M&M’s are gluten-free. However, Crispy M&M’s and their chocolate bars are ‘May Contain’ products.

Gluten-Free Chocolate – Heavenly Range

Pure Heavenly was featured on Dragon’s Den, and Peter Jones beat two other Dragons to secure 20% of the business for £75,000.
What’s not to like about this range – Dairy-Free, Palm Oil Free – no more than 1% sugar, and above all else, gluten-free. Seventeen different flavours in total – we’re hooked on the stuff.

Find the range in our shop

Gluten-Free Chocolate – Prodigy Snacks Range

I love this range to bits. The owner, Sameer, is a wonderful entrepreneur, and a former chef and restauranter who created this range. It was so people could enjoy a natural snack. The packaging is all eco friendly, and the ingredients are to die for.

Again you can find ther range in our shop – as long as we don’t get to eat them before you do!

gluten-free chocolate

A Fascinating History of Chocolate

The origins of chocolate can be traced way back to the ancient Olmecs of Southern Mexico, even earlier than the Mayans. The very word chocolate may conjure up images of chocolate bars and truffles, but the chocolate that we buy today bears little resemblance to the chocolate of the past. Throughout history, chocolate was consumed as a bitter beverage, not a somewhat addictive edible treat.

The cacao tree is native to both South and Central America, from which chocolate is made. Each fruit is called a pod, and each pod contains about 40 cacao beans. In order to create cocoa beans, beans must be dried and roasted.

bluten-free chocolate


The exact origin or inventor of cacao are not known. Hayes Lavis, curator of cultural arts at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian, believes ancient Olmec vessels and pots date back to around 1500 B.C. They contained traces of theobromine, a stimulant compound found in chocolate and tea.
It is believed that the Olmecs used cacao to create a ceremonial drink. However, since they did not keep written records, opinions differ on whether or not they used cacao beans in their concoctions.

Check out the full history of chocolate on History.com

For more information or assistance with this article, or if you want to add something that you feel is relevant, we would love to hear from you via the Contact Us page.

Living Healthy With Chocolate eBook

09/12/2021 | Gluten Info | 0 Comments

Leave a comment



Oh hi there 👋 It’s nice to meet you.

Don't miss out on the discounts, free consultations and the latest gluten free info - only in our newsletter! Join our growing tribe today (you can leave at any time. At least check it out).

©2021 glutenfreeliving.co.uk